Before Sunset [poster design]

This ONE of FOUR movie posters I’m designing, while trying out some new styles. I’m doing There Will Be Blood, Taxi Drive, Bad Boys, and this one is Before Sunset 2004 ( A Richard,  Linklater film: Scanner Darkly, Dazed and Confused) . I tried to experiment with a less cartoonish style than I’m accustomed to, and go for a more pastel and conservative look, given the nature of the subject matter

The Plot of Before Sunset (which is the sequel to Before Sunrise 1995): Jesse, a writer from the US, and Celine, a Frenchwoman working for an environment protection organization, acquainted nine years ago on the train from Budapest to Vienna, meet again when Jesse arrives in Paris for a reading of his new book. As they have only a few hours until his plane leaves, they stroll through Paris, talking about their experiences, views and whether they still love each other, although Jesse is already married with a kid.

The movie is a basically is one long conversation that would fall in the romantic comedy category, so I approached it as such. Here is the fruit of my labor. Thanks for watching. – Joshua Hooper

Dazed and Confused)

3 Comments

Filed under caricature, Creative Arts, design, Film/ TV

3 responses to “Before Sunset [poster design]

  1. I like this. I look forward to seeing the other movie covers. Especially the Bad Boys one. This is a cool practice to better yourself. I really need to network with more artists. Thanks for this, Juicy! I always learn something new from you.

  2. I like the scenery and the calm colors you chose, it really looks like a certain time of the day as well. I never saw this movie but I’d say you caught the mood of it. The minimal exaggerations make the people more realistic… even though i can imagine you doin a flipside to this, lol. I wanna see what you do with “There Will Be Blood”, that movie was ill.

  3. I love this. it’s perfect. The composition and colors… hmmm… I may have some people I can refer to you. Would you illustrate children’s books?

Leave a comment